Print Page | Close Window

Greetings

Printed From: The Gallipoli Association
Category: Gallipoli Association forum
Forum Name: New members
Forum Description: an area for new members to introduce themselves or seek advice etc.
URL: http://forum.gallipoli-association.org/forum_posts.asp?TID=1846
Printed Date: 25 May 2019 at 17:18
Software Version: Web Wiz Forums 10.12 - http://www.webwizforums.com

Topic: Greetings
Posted By: STYLES6965
Subject: Greetings
Date Posted: 22 Apr 2013 at 18:22
Hello all,

My name is Anthony Styles. I am a recently retired police officer. I am married to Lindsey and I am an honours undergraduate student at Wolverhampton University. All being well in just over a years time I will have an honours degree in War Studies. Apart from the Gallipoli Association I am a member of the Western Front Association, The Friends of Lochnagar, and The Richard III Society.

Since I was a young boy sitting at my grandfathers feet listening to his anecdotal stories of his exploits during World War II, I have had an immense fascination and gratitude for those now almost lost generations who fought for the freedom we largely take for granted today. I wear my poppy in recognition and pride for all those who fought (and died) in the seminal catastrophe that was the Great War. May their names liveth forevermore. I have always felt inclined also to raise my hat to all those contributors from the then colonies and dominions who fought for the mother country. In particular I have always held a special esteem for Australia and New Zealand , the Anzacs, who provided over 800,000 men who were volunteers to a man. Their example will live forever.

I would like to take this opportunity to introduce myself to all the members of the Gallipoli Association and I will whenever I can further the cause of the association and during my yearly tours to the battlefields I will endeavour to perpetuate the theme of remembrance.

Replies:
Posted By: Peter Trounson